Audiosynthesis Music Radar; Emily Watkins

I know I’ve horrendously neglected the blog again over the past too many weeks due to other commitments but I’m beginning to have more and more free time to ponder my writing. In continuation with the new Audiosynthesis chapter of doing interviews, I am launching a spin off series of interviews focusing on musicians and acts who grabbed my attention and their sound demanded me to talk to them and share their music with the world.

To kick start it all off, I’ve got the amazing Wisconsin based guitarist and vocalist Emily Watkins.

Having discovered Emily’s cover of Vulfpeck’s ‘Wait for the Moment’, I knew I had to catch up with her for a chat.
You can check out the video here below. It’s clean, soulful and very tastefully arranged for solo guitar and vocals.


What led you to a life of music?

When I was around 8 years old, my older sister was gifted a guitar. I thought it was the coolest thing ever, so I would borrow it whenever my sister let me (and sometimes when she didn’t let me) and try to figure out how to play it. A couple of years later, I finally received my own guitar for Christmas. And the rest is history.

What projects are you presently working with?

I’m currently on summer break from university, so when I’m not working or practicing, I plan to use my time to work on more covers. I’m looking to refine my audio and video production methods, but also take some bigger leaps with the stuff I put out, such as adding more tracks and making my arrangements more complex. I also have a few originals in the works that I hope to have together by the fall.

I also play in my university’s jazz band and that’s been an amazing experience. We recently played a show with Doc Severinsen, and this year, we won a Downbeat award for best college big band.

Your guitar playing is a striking nod to finger style players. Are there any notable players or artists who inspired this approach?

One of the players who has really inspired the way I play is Joe Pass. I really dig how he treated the guitar as such a versatile instrument. He would frequently play a melody, comp, and walk a bassline all within the same song, sometimes doing all three at the same time. The great Chet Atkins and Tommy Emmanuel are famous for this as well, and I would also consider them to be huge inspirations to me.

What artists are you listening to right now?

I listen to a little bit of everything. As I write this, I’m listening to the Bill Withers album ‘Justments. In my car today, I put on the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ album Californication. The vocalist in me is really digging Cyrille Aimée’s newest album Let’s Get Lost. And of course, Vulfpeck is always a great way to start my day.

I absolutely love Vulfpeck!! What’s the last album you bought? Tell us about it.

Preservation Hall Jazz Band’s new album So It Is. It’s kind of different from what you would normally expect from them, but it has all the soul and fire you’d expect from them. It’s a great album.

Have you any gigs planned for the near future where people can catch you playing?

I don’t have much in the way of solo/small group gigs at the moment, as I’m still kind of new at this. But I do have some projects in the works, so keep up to date via my Facebook page. I’ll post updates as I get them. And I also hope to have a website go live in the next few weeks. So stay tuned!

If you want to check out more of Emily’s stuff and follow her on various social media you can find her via

Facebook
Soundcloud
Youtube

Until next time, thanks for reading and if there’s anything you want me to talk about next please hit me up in the comments or via our beautiful Contact page. 

I could be a music theory agony aunt!!

Leave a Reply

